Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I am new to Dart Frogs and building complete Vivariums; this will be my first build. I am leaning towards Leucs at the moment, although that could change depending on what is available in AZ. I will be posting up a bunch of pictures as I go so feel free to comment on anything!

I have read A LOT of your postings of builds and other various topics, so now it's time for me to dive in. Here we go!

I got the idea to mark out where I want to silicone from somebody doing a build on this forum. Laid it out and filled it in with the black silicone. Purpose for doing this was to have a cleaner look on the outside of the tank and to let the Great Stuff to stick better/longer. The two pieces of wood in these pictures are oak driftwood I collected and sanitized.

I will be using Hydroton and ABG mix from Joshs Frogs. The delivery should be here by tuesday latest. I also ordered some Cypress wood from him and I will see if I can incorperate that without being too cramped.

I hope you guys enjoy yet another build! Post any thoughts or concerns please.

Mark

Attachments

·
Registered
120 Posts
Will be following this thread, cant wait to see more updates!

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am starting the foaming process tonight, hopefully I have enough! These pictures are the progress after one can used. I thought I would try to make a ledge using a skinny branch of Manzanita and some left over mesh screen. We will soon find out if that was a good idea or an epic failure. :D

I'm going to let the first can cure for a bit and then add in the finishing touches with the second hopefully.

Thanks for looking!

Attachments

·
Registered
214 Posts
I'm planning the same build for my first, will be some time before I start. As one should have a home before one tries to give a frog a home...LOL

Following with interest.

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #5