Dendroboard banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I am new to the hobby and planning to get 2 dart frogs next month* for my 24x18x18 vivarium. I am hoping for a same-sex pair, as I don't especially want the frogs to breed while I am still such a beginner. I do recognize that the frogs' age will likely present issues with sexing so I may end up with a different-sex pair. In light of this, I'd love to get your input on bromeliads.

I have had the vivarium generally set up for about 8 weeks now, gradually filling it out with plants. I have noticed that a lot of dart frog vivariums seem to have bromeliads. My understanding is that these plants are popular due to their ability to encourage breeding, so I have not been planning to add any to the viv so as not to encourage breeding. I have been mindful of ensuring adequate climbing and hiding space as well, which I understand is another common function of the bromeliad.

However, since I am new to this, I wanted to check in with people who are more experienced to make sure that a vivarium without bromeliads will not be somehow detrimental to the frogs in a way that I have not considered.

Thank you so much for your help :) I really want to do this right.

*At a trade show, to avoid shipping during the summer heat

·
Registered
E. Anthonyii Santa Isabels
328 Posts
My darts (e. Anthonyi) definitely bred in a bromeliad…but they also laid eggs in the leaf litter. Whether the brom was there or not was not a determining factor. It did give them a place to drop/hide some tads that I had to remove later. At the same time, my same sex tanks, most of my frogs still use the broms plenty… But I have a smaller species, so broms are perfect for them to sleep and hang out in. Non-breeding usage.

·
Registered
1,294 Posts
Thank you! Are there other reasons to avoid bromeliads?