Dendroboard banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just starting out and have done a lot of research and cannot find a reason as to why springtails cannot be used as a primary food source. All I ever see is a statement that it shouldn't be done. I undertsand that a PDF should have a varied diet, so why couldn't you have sprintails as the main course and fruit flies as the side dish? I'd like to do springtails instead because they seem easier to keep, not very smelly, can keep cultures directly in the viv and reproduce quickly. I'm planning on keeping leucs, by the way. I guess if they are too small you would have to feed a lot of them to keep the frogs healthy, is this the only reason? Thanks.

·
Registered
1,961 Posts
The main drawback of springtails is that they cannot be dusted. You can combat this problem somewhat with gut loading, but not totally. Also, some darts get too big to eat springtails. Adult terribilis totally ignore them, for instance.

·
Registered
1,114 Posts
It would be hard to culture enough springtails to feed larger frogs, even though leucs aren't as large as some others. I culture lots of springtails, I have about 20 76oz. colonies of various types, and it would probally take one colony to feed my 2.2 group of leucs per feeding, and that is without leaving enough to keep the culture going. You are also unable to supplement. IMO fruitflies are easy to culture, and if you only have a few leucs it will take only a few minutes a week to make cultures.

·
Registered
2,840 Posts
No matter how lazy I get with my springtails, I can't kill them. I had one culture I didn't touch for two months that still was going when I opened it.

How do you gutload springtails? I'm interested in how you get calcium into them.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·