Dendroboard banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought this plant a long time ago and just wanted to know what it is exactly? I suspect it is a philo of some sort. I've never used it in a viv before, but have used it in a quarantine setup and suspect it will do very well in a vivarium.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
Definitely micans, which is really a form of scandens.
They are different species though?

...aaaand its a great viv plant. Introduce it as 3 node cuttings and watch it grow!

It looks like I could do way less than three node cuttings. It's sending arial roots down at every node. Even in dry southern california summer weather (I keep it wel watered). It looks like even 1 node cuttings would work.

The cutting that I threw into my quarantine tank was three nodes and placed in a quarantine tank consisting of paper towel topped with magnolia leaves and a few cuttings of plants. It has done well (The roots are growing longer but no new leaves with existing leaves maintaining color, posture, strength, etc.) despite being planted in its conditions.

Great viv plant!

However I feel the need to make a correction on the name.
That is Philodendron hederaceum. This specifically is the juvenile form that is commonly referred to as Philodendron micans.

Todd
So what do I have? micans? scandens? or hederaceum? I'm confused It is frogsafe right?

·
Registered
1,954 Posts
Safe is a relative term. Have you rinsed it well?
Have you quarantined it for a while?
Most of the plants are fine to put in frog tanks. There are only a few out there Id say are unsafe to be around the frogs.
Its mostly the pesticides, fungicides, and foliar fertilizers that are used on commercially produced plants that present an issue for the animals.
Aside from those issues just a good bleaching will kill off any parasites or harmful bacteria