Dendroboard banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie looking into getting a pair of dart frogs, and am still in the process of learning, weighing my options, and deciding if this hobby is for me. So I thought it would be nice to hear from some people about what they most enjoy about this hobby.

As a side-note: Sometimes it seems like all the emphasis is placed on the vivarium and/or equipment, but how about the frogs themselves? Do you find their behavior enjoyable to watch? (I would assume so :))Are the animals themselves a worthwhile pet?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
2,954 Posts
Hi Azriel, welcome to the board. Personally I have always had an interest in poison dart frogs. I think it's just crazy being able to own a blue, orange, yellow, red, ect. frog! They are extreamly cool, and I think everyone here would agree with me. Of course you cant pick them up and pet them like a dog, but they have their own pros. Not only is the frog cool, but making their viv is a whole lot of fun as well. It lets you be very creative. Also one of the biggest enjoyments people including I have, is being able to watch life happen. If your frogs ever start to breed, you get to watch nature basically. And you get to experience the life of a frog from egg, to tad, to baby frog, to adult. It's very fun and rewarding in my opinion. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
446 Posts
I personally enjoy watching the frogs themselves. I go into my reptile room and relax to get away. I personally enjoy egg feeders because I pull a chair up to one of my tanks and look for new froglet's and watch the current ones. I have seen my male blue jean start calling and then the female showed up and they eventually laid eggs right in front of me, it was a pretty rewarding experience.

·
Registered
2,426 Posts