Dendroboard banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Other than getting normal water test done what all do I need to do to make sure well water is safe for frogs?

I currently use tap water which has sat out. This will be my first time using well water and do not know what to expect.

·
Registered
1,775 Posts
I've been using VA well water for a little over two months now with no issues, but I can't speak for the long term for frogs.

I did use it for years with my higher pH freshwater setups (mixed in with RO for the lower pH tanks as well) and it was just fine, I considered that precaution enough to use it in my vivs and haven't seen anything out of the ordinary.

If anything, it's more natural with less chemicals than city water, just make sure you're not in an area with heavy use of fertilizers. If it's safe for you to drink, it's probably going to be just fine for the frogs and plants.

·
Registered
610 Posts
You may want to check the water hardness. You can probably get a hardness kit at any place that sells fish.

·
Premium Member
2,143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I do plan to have it tested to see what all is in it, just was not sure if I had to go much farther than that.

It is farm country so I will have to do some asking around about ferts. I would assume most of the fertalizer comes from cow poop... but I have been know to be wrong a time or two.

:eek: cow poop :eek: That thought just hit me I dont want to drink it if that is the case.

·
Registered
1,775 Posts
I think it's mainly high levels of iron and copper that can cause issues for wildlife, right?