Dendroboard banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
Newbie here, first post :)
When using hydroton or Leca as the drainage layer some comes very dusty and requires being washed prior to use.
1) Does this washing water need to be RO water?
2) Does the pH of the water matter?
3) what pH to shoot for?
4) with a vivarium where frogs will be housed what chemical to use to increase or decrease the pH of the water?

thanks

·
Administrator
4,339 Posts
1) Does this washing water need to be RO water?
2) Does the pH of the water matter?
No and no, not really.

4) with a vivarium where frogs will be housed what chemical to use to increase or decrease the pH of the water?
What frogs are you intending to keep? I don't know of anyone that measures the pH of the water we use for misting our tanks.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Rinse inert substrate with any potable water. Mist with RO.

LECA wicks a lot -- do research the pros and cons of whatever you choose to use for a drainage layer, and for anything else really.
What is your preferred drainage layer or method of draining? I intend to use an automated spray system for what It is worth, in a 36x24x18 Exo terra. (If I can find one around that is they’re hard to come by it seems where I live). Looking at keeping a two tincs. Read your thread of a build that also had a paper about tinc habitat and so on. Great reading.

·
Administrator
6,719 Posts
I like sloped bottoms a lot (that's why I put one in that tinc build) otherwise I use aquarium filter foam sheets currently. The former is just slick and the latter is lightweight, inexpensive and looks pretty decent through the glass (better than anything else, anyway). Both work, as does egg crate on risers.