Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm looking to purchase my first vivarium and i'm torn between 18x18x24 and 24x18x18. If you had to choose which would you choose and why? I like the larger floor for the darts since they use the floor more often but I like the taller 18x18x24 for plants. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts!

For not much more money I can go with 36x18x24 and have the best of both worlds, is it worth it or is that too big for a first vivarium/darts?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Hello there and welcome! I'd like to preface this by saying I am not an expert by any stretch of the imagination nor fully qualified to give be-all-end-all advice but there are some solid rules of thumb I have absorbed from months of lurking and collecting information.

An 18 x 18 x 24 would be better suited for semi-arboreal dart frogs such as auratus as they prefer to be higher up in a viv, where primarily ground dwelling frogs such as tincs would prefer the 24 x 18 x 18. This being said, dart frogs will use all vivarium space provided to them (assuming they have proper access) and the general consensus is that bigger is always better. A larger viv simply allows for greater enrichment, especially when considering the size of their natural habitat in the wild.

With all things being equal, and remembering to provide all of the proper husbandry, in my opinion, the 36 x 18 x 24 would be the best choice out of the 3!

Best Regards,
Nate

·
Registered
1,822 Posts
I love my 36x18x24" tanks far more than any of my 18x18x24" tanks. The extra floorspace is well used.

That said, 18" tall isn't very tall.

Which size is best will depend on what frogs you're thinking of.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I love my 36x18x24" tanks far more than any of my 18x18x24" tanks. The extra floorspace is well used.

That said, 18" tall isn't very tall.

Which size is best will depend on what frogs you're thinking of.