Dendroboard banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there! I'm fairly new to this hobby, having found this forum a bit after setting up my vivarium. It's been planted now for right at two months, and I'm having some issues with a couple of the plants in it. I have a 10 gallon horizontal aquarium setup that I got a plant pack for from NEHERP, which arrived beautifully and healthy. My ferns are the ones I'm most concerned about. The autumn fern (Dryopteris erythrosora) is the worst looking, with the largest fronds having mostly desiccated and curled up, especially those nearest the top of the enclosure. It's apparently supposed to grow to a decent size, upwards of 30", and I'm wondering if it's just not right for this setup since it's not a very tall enclosure and it doesn't get any shade. Similarly, my kangaroo fern (Microsorum pustulatum) seems like it's also struggling to reach a decent height due to potentially too much light. (Unrelated, the kangaroo fern also seems like a tasty snack for my isopods (armadillidium peraccae). I'm thinking it'll need to be removed anyway, but including the info here for completion's sake.)