Dendroboard banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been trying to breed my Phyllobates Vittatus' for a couple of weeks, I have been noticing some strange behaviour that I don't know whether it is normal or not. (I am new to actually owning darts)

I have met breeding requirements eg. Misting frequently, feeding every day with dusted fruit flies, lots of places to lay eggs including film canisters, leaf surfaces, coco hut, open water bowl... I even have both of my males calling.(I have 2 males and one female)

The behaviour I observe goes like this. One male begins calling. This attracts the attention of the female very quickly. She carefully hops over to the calling male and begins to flick her legs, even getting closer to the male. she then lowers her head and rubs it against the male's chin. The male stops calling, and begins to hop away. The female follows the male all around the tank. The other male, noticing that the two are running around, starts to follow the female, so pretty soon we have a little froggy love triangle that gets nothing done, no breeding beyond that point. It is as if the first male is terrified of the female because as soon as it gets to the physical contact, it becomes something that he wants nothing to do with.

Today the male was on top of a plant I have in my tank, on a broad leaf, and he began calling. the female tried for at least 30 minutes to find him, and get to his location. When she finally got up to where he was, he stopped calling, turned around and hopped away, leaving his exhausted and frustrated lady friend behind on the leaf.

What should I try to help them progress their love life? Is there anything I can do? How do you recommend I proceed with the breeding? Should I pull the other male out of the tank so it is just the pair?

Thank you.

·
Registered
213 Posts
Maybe he's afraid to talk to girls.