Dendroboard banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!

I have been preparing my viv for about the last 6 months, the shots I have posted under the members vivariums section is here:

http://www.dendroboard.com/forum/members-frogs-vivariums/75154-18x18x24-viv-build.html

I live in upstate NY where it gets pretty cold in the winter, so I wanted to monitor my temps during the cold seasons before I got any frogs. I keep my viv in the living room corner for display.

In July, August, and beginning of September the temps would range from about a high of 80 during the day to about 68 at night. Now that fall has come and winter is around the corner the ambient temp in the room has dropped significantly. I keep my thermostat around 68, and my viv temps are now around a high of 75 and a low of 65 at night. I can only imagine that this is going to get lower as the winter comes. So I think that it's time for me to think about a reasonable way to supply a heat source and start getting temps consistent.

The frogs that I want are going to be Ventrimaculatus. I have read up a lot about them and have seen that a low of 65 isn't bad, but I'm willing to bet that much more wouldn't be too great.

Having given you all the background, I have just a few questions:

Is there anyone on the boards that is very into vents? I would love to pick their brains on temps, fauna, and feeding.

I am only really interested in doing one viv right now and will work to make it 'perfect' for a while, so I don't think that I would even need to culture too many flies to provide for say..4 -5 vents? I'm really not too sure, but would love to talk to someone that does.

Thanks for the help everyone~

·
Registered
123 Posts