Dendroboard banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
561 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been keeping dart frogs for about 5 years. Two weeks ago, one of my p.terribilis had a prolapse. I contacted a herp vet in the Philadelphia area and posted a treatment question on another board. We soaked the frog per instructions and the prolapse wet back in. I got a lot of helpful feedback and was directed to this board as a good source of information. (Thanks Jon!)

We kept it wet and the prolapse went in within 2 hrs. No worries during the week, he was eating and acting as normal… until this weekend when he prolapsed again. We soaked him as last time, but the prolapse would not go in. This morning, it was in, but then reappeared by 11 AM, so we took him to a 2nd vet. The vet asked about feeding, supplements, and housing. He said that the only thing he sees could be the problem is calcium deficiency resulting from our lighting setup. We have acrylic tanks with UV tubes overtop. He said that the UV lights must be inside the enclosures because they need the UV to produce D3 to metabolize the calcium – but the acrylic filters out the UVs. I understand his position, but I have never seen frog setups that allow for unfiltered UVB light exposure, they are always on the outside – one time I saw one with a screen top at Reptiland Zoo in PA, but this seemed to be an exception rather than a rule. I have seen many setups (some by the leading authorities on dart frog husbandry in the country) and I cannot think of more than one or 2 that had lighting that was not filtered by either glass, plexiglass or acrylic. I have also read discussions on the merits of UVB for amphibians, but I saw nothing that drew a definitive conclusion that UVB was needed.
I have other 12 frogs and have no problems at all with them, we examined the other p. terribilis from the sameenclosure tonight and there seem to be no issues.