Dendroboard banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been thinking about getting some dart frogs for quite a while now. My only problem is I still have a couple years of college left and I travel back and forth from home during breaks. (6 hour drive) I'm pretty set on building a 20H terrarium with a pair of tincs. How practical is it to travel with a setup like this? How much does a tank like this weigh? (set up with GS background, layers of LECA, ABG mix, water weight, ect.) I've tried the search function and haven't been able to find a thread that addresses my question. Hope you guys can help me out! Really hope I'll be able to get some of these cool critters :)

·
Registered
502 Posts
I am actually a college student myself.

I am also a 6 hr drive from my parents' home. This winter break I decided to take my frogs on the journey home with me, but I did not bring the setups with them. My parents set up vivs for me back home, which was extremely nice of them.

So all I did was put the frogs in travel cups with paper towels, and some leaves, fruitfly cultures, and springtail cultures in a backpack with some heat packs and off to the bus I went. If you do decide to travel with your frogs and not the whole setups make sure you take the proper precautions. I had some issues caused by exposure to the cold weather, but overall I think it can be done you just need to be well prepared.

If you have a car at school with you then its even easier because you can easily (well relatively) travel with the vivs!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the quick response man! It's good to know that there's other people out there with the same situation as me. Setting up another viv at home is a good idea. I don't know if my parents will go for it though hah. I think I'll go ahead and start setting up my 20 gallon that I have laying around at home before I head back down to school after break is over.