Dendroboard banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me first start by saying, I'm no expert on this. Some other recent threads have had me thinking about tank design (use of vertical space (https://www.dendroboard.com/forum/showthread.php?t=356338 and plants versus wood use https://www.dendroboard.com/forum/showthread.php?t=356178

I wanted to share a few thoughts that I have on tank design from my observations of my frogs over the last year.

1. Maximizing the useful space in the tank
2. Lighting
3. Object placement
4. Leaf litter

First thought: maximizing the useful space in a tank

Since frogs aren't like fish and don't use "empty" space I try to find ways to make the empty space more usable. I have done this through a couple of different ways.

One way is to use wood to create additional levels in the tank so that there's extra useable "floorspace" elevated in the tank, this can be through ledges on the sides, mezzanine-style levels, or a combination of the two.
This is a 36x18x18" tank with a semi-second story built in with cork bark.
View attachment 282240

This is an 18x18x24" with a ledge and a second story built out of cork bark:

View attachment 282242

Another way is to use plants to create this space (particularly useful for Ranitomeya species, in my experience). In my Ranitomeya sirensis tank I have setup bromeliads all along one vertical wall, the frogs use these as their beds at night, as perches for the males to call, as resting areas and as hopping off points to go to other places in the tank. This same approach can be done with other plants that have leaves that will stick out into the negative space, pothos plants are useful for this if trained to grow along the wall.

In this vein of maximizing useful space, there are things that many people do in building their tanks that are, primarily, using up the useful space. Examples: waterfalls, ponds and other water features, moss on most of the horizontal surfaces,