Dendroboard banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,464 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just thought I would poke my head in and say hi. My name is Doug. I'm a Zoo Keeper at the El Paso Zoo in Texas. I'm a Marine Biologist and my main focus has always been Coral Reef Aquaria but I've always loved animals of all kinds. I had a small vivarium at one point in the past with some D. tinctorius "citronella".

Our Zoo recently aquired 0.0.20 D. auratus and 0.0.20 D. azureus. They are all juv. or young adults anywhere from nickle to quarter sized. They are in Quarantine right now so only our vet staff gets to play with them at the moment. But lucky me they're going into our "Reptile" house and I get to work with them and build their displays. They'll be in seperate displays and yes not all of the frogs are going in each display. The displays will be fairly large. I've been lurking to boards getting a lot of good ideas for their vivariums, care, etc... I'm one lucky SOB that gets to work with these guys at work and get paid to do it!

In addition, seeing all those frogs come in and spending time gleaning the net has rekindled my personal intrest in frogs so I scooped up an 18x18x24 ZooMed and I'm going to set it up at home and aquire some frogs for myself. I've always loved tincs and some of the new morphs are really hot. Any idea how to explain to my wife on why boxes of moss, bromeliads, etc keep showing up on our doorstep? I can't WAIT to explain the fruit fly cultures.

Anyway, just wanted to say thanks for a great forum. I look forward to sharing some of my expeiences with you all and learning from yours. There are alot of amazing vivs and frogs and keepers here.

·
Registered
10,415 Posts
Hey Doug, I'm Doug! Welcome aboard. Be sure and post up some pictures of your frogs and vivs as you get them set up.

·
Registered
1,078 Posts
Wicked jealous! I wish I was a zookeeper. All those years of college should of been better spent. :cool: