Dendroboard banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am New to Dendroboard so please bear with me I am still using Dendrobates for my vents have there been any name changes. I am not aware of any But my books are old and I just catch glimpses of frogs with different names but they resemble my Vents, Which by the way I am looking to do some trading I have ohhhhhh about 12 froglets, 10 with back legs, and bunch more tadpoles not including the eggs that I have been harvesting.
But back on topic I would like to be underthe right toic with my frog s so playing catch up is my game right now.
I have been keeping Luecs problely bought 10 years but I never harvested any eggs from them and they did real good on there own. I started out with3 females and 2 males in a forty gallon and it did look sweet,ended up with 14 frogs and froglets after a couple years, of course I had to thin them out but i did have a good run with my Leucs, now I have more tanks and I want more Dart frogs

·
Registered
2,475 Posts
Or variabilis. What type of vents, from where? Pictures?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I believe I found the correct name, I could be wrong , but think they are Dendrobates. I'm not positive, believe they are from the Sean Stweart line. I bought them from Josh's Frogs and he told me I had two diferent blood lines.
Everything I have is posted in my gallery, if you can use a picture to tell.
Thank you

·
Registered
8,465 Posts
If you got them from Josh, I would contact him for exact ID. It can be difficult to tell from pictures, as many morphs are very similar and there are variations within morphs.

·
Registered
2,475 Posts
Like Kris said, contact Josh. If they are ventrimaculata they are now classified as either Ranitomeya variabilis or Ranitomeya amazonica. You would need to know what population you have.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts