Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
3,363 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I saw this show up on facebook:

Amphibian Rescue and Conservation Project » Defenders Urges USFWS to Ban Importation of Live Frogs That May Have Chytrid

Which, as a frog keeper, concerns me a little bit, especially after there has already been an effort to declare amphibians injurious wildlife if they haven't been tested for chytrid.

As a scientist, I have to keep an open mind about issues as new data is presented, so I decided to go directly to the source: an article titled "Multiple emergences of genetically diverse amphibian- infecting chytrids include a globalized hypervirulent recombinant lineage" by Farrer et al, published in November 2011 in the PNAS.

Here is the link to the paper, for those interested:

http://www.eurekalert.org/jrnls/pnas_pdfs/pnas.201111915.pdf

I guess to begin with a few things concern me. First off, the popular science article highlights that 16 of 20 samples were the same strain. It does not say that 9 of the 16 come from Europe, namely 1 from England, 2 from France, and 6 from Spain with 4 of the Spanish samples coming from the same spot). Of the remaining 7, the highly virulent strain of chytrid has been found in 2 US sites (Colorado and California), 2 Montserrat sites, 1 Canadian site, 1 Panamanian site, and 1 Australian site. No samples from all of Asia, South America, or the majority of Africa (their only samples were from South Africa and Mallorca). I am a little concerned about how relatively few sites were used to make a global conclusion.

But, I think that this paper got into a prestigious journal like PNAS because it found new strains of the disease in Switzerland and South Africa.