Dendroboard banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy all,
I'm not new to tanks (mult. fresh and reef tanks), but I am new to the idea of vivariums, paludariums, terrariums, etc... I've been on a few other forums, no one really seems interested in the build and have gotten very little to no feedback. So here I am! (Besides ya'll are on tapatalk and THATS what's up).

So anyways, stumbled across the idea online and had to have one. Just so happens I had an extra tank laying around the house and went for it. Have a bunch of pictures of the build so far and I'm kinda stuck on the next move. So here we have it....

Just to get a feel for it...

Now all the questions really start to arise.

Canister vs In-tank filter vs sump and overflow for waterfall? Really unsure of headroom, sumps, etc for this small amount of water. Just want the water to be clear and clean.

What about this fog? Think it's possible to plumb fog like this?

I also have plans for a misting system and air circulation but haven't gotten there just yet. I also decided to go with the great stuff background (once I have all my plumbing in place) and foam over it. Silicone then substrate etc etc. The narrow water section will also be sloped for a shallow area/ easy exit for the dart frogs if they happen to fall in.
I'm trying to think of more questions but I'll post back with them and more pictures as I have siliconed the walls in and blacked out the tank!

Thanks for looking and ANY input!

Scott

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So help me out here guys! 3/4" flex tube should do the trick for fog plumbing?:confused:

Sump w/ overflow vs in-tank filter? :confused:

·
Registered
552 Posts
I haven't really done any vivs with water filtration, but anytime I've had water flowing through a tank of any sort that housed animals, I always liked the sump system. It made maintenance so much easier I felt.