Dendroboard banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I am setting up a few terrariums for dart frogs and I would like your opinions of plants and other fixtures (sticks/logs/rocks/shelves/backgrounds etc).

I am new at building tank setups - this one you see first below will house Ranitomeya Fantastica "True Nominals". The skeleton of the build is in place but the rest I would love advice on! The top is mesh but sealed 90% for humidity retention and will have passive front to back ventilation via the front Exoterra slits.

The substrate is leca balls with mesh on top then ABG, I left the leaf litter off for now in the event of planting more plants.

Thanks for your advice in advance!

Organism Wood Plant Gas Grass

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't think I would plant any more plants in the substrate, it looks like a lot of the floor space is taken up as is. There is a lot of space to mount plants on the branches up off the ground though.

What's your plan with the gecko?
I was thinking a few small or a couple small and one big bromeliad, with it's base wrapped in sphagnum and tied to different branches. Thoughts?

To answer: Our lovely Mourning Geckos will stay, as they co-hab well with most of our frogs 😁

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
That tank isn’t big enough to be cohabitating anything imo
Well forgive my ignorance but why not? A single mourning gecko with 2 Ranitomeya would hardly be crowding the space.

We have 3 mourning Geckos with our 4 Ranitomeya Summersi in an 18x18x24, heavily planted and setup with lots of elevated structures, hides and tubes.

Our summers have been happily breeding well and raising tadpoles successfully in-situ without issues. I fail to see the issue there.

·
Administrator
4,515 Posts

·
Administrator
6,982 Posts
The frogs produce all the waste the microfauna need.
And then some.