Dendroboard banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I’m new to the Dart Frog Community.
I bought a setup a couple months ago that had one Dendrobates Auratus Green and Black and two Dendrobates Auratus highland bronze. (This was before I realized that mixing species, even subspecies was frowned upon) I bought the setup and group of frogs from a craigslist ad. The two Highland Bronze seem to be a breeding pair and have produced two clutches. The first clutch has begun morphing into froglets but the first two both had SLS and sadly passed away. I’m waiting on the others to pop out their front legs and see the results. After doing more research and seeing a post about mixing subspecies when breeding and the negative results that can have (I’ll put the quote below) I began to wonder if the froglets having SLS was more than just a random accident since the parents are given vitamins and all other care parameters are great. I have just come to find out that my male is actually a Dendrobates Auratus El Cope. Would that explain the SLS in the froglets? I still don’t know if the rest will be healthy or not. I have changed the parameters in their vivarium to try and stop them from breeding which has worked thus far. I have also never seen the Green and Black breed with the El Cope. She’s basically the third wheel in the group. I’ve seen the highland bronze take part in some mating rituals i.e. rubbing the male and both of them sitting in the film capsule together and always seeing her with the eggs never the green and black.