Dendroboard banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I recently jumped back into the hobby after a roughly 10 year hiatus I took because of a lot of moving around and settling into my career. I can say that I don't remeber having such a rough go with my vivarium plants in my previous stint. My previous tanks were much wetter than this as well, but my plant selection was pretty basic. This is my first attempt with Begonias, Marcgravia, and miniature orchids.

The tank is an Insitu Amazonia that was setup with GS and Drylock background (wish the color was a little darker, but oh well...) My hope is to have a nice plant covered background with multiple epiphytic ferns and marcgravia eventually covering the majority of it. Safe to say I have a long way to go. The tank was initially planted about a month ago, with some additions about 2 weeks old (mostly the orchids, and 1 Microgramma vacciniifolia which promply dropped every leaf).

Here's a full tank shot. Substrate is ABG a couple inches thick with a generous pile of leaf litter. This was taken around noon with the last misting at 9:40AM. I mist twice a day: once at 9:40AM for 12 seconds, and once at 4:00PM for 30 seconds. That is down from three times a day since yesterday. The other misting was at 2:15PM for 15 seconds. I feel like it may be too wet, but I'm not sure. Lights are on from 10AM to 10PM, running at about 50% on the fixture that is included with the Insitu. I run 2 40x10mm Noctua fans in the housings that came with the viv at about 60% speed constantly. It creates very little, but still noticeable airflow. Temp is very steady at 70F plus or minus 1 degree day and night. Humidity is 76%-89% depending on the time and when it was last misted. I've never seen it out of that range.