Dendroboard banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
827 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Nothing major but a couple tanks I did up. The first picture shows my terribilis statue sculpture finished so I thought it would be cool to see it in one of my empty tanks. I painted the terribilis white with black eyes quickly, but the finished resin statue will be cast in a semi translucent resin to give the skin a lot of depth and realism. This first tank might be modified heavily for atelopus but we'll see. The rock background is just a carved piece of foam I hit with a dremmel and coated in tinted cement. It was also painted using some shading and speckling to break up solid colors. I'm a trained artist and using my skills soon to sell frog art and do some custom work for people. I am putting everything into a line of tank backgrounds for a company...I'm a dedicated when it comes to doing work for others but have a sort of good enough attitude for my own stuff lol It's ok though. Can only get so much detail carving foam. The ones I'm making for the company will be sculpted in clay, molded in silicone, and cast in solid resin..so much more I can do and will last 100 years in the most dank conditions.

Here's the first tank. 20 gal high vert conversion

Here's another 20 gallon high vert conversion. I had big plans for it but sort of just threw it together as I'm getting more and more wrapped up in Anuran Art Designs and not to mention I have a 3 week old newborn son lol

The pot turned over is a replica clay mayan pot that I added clay and dirt to and partially buried in the soil. I always planned to do this in a tank. Didn't look quite as cool as I wanted but I think it's different. I got the pot at the Boston museum of fine arts for $30. I thought that was cheap for a big pot at a museum gift shop.