Dendroboard banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
I’m totally new to frogs. I’ve kept a chameleon for a little over two years now and I’ve always been envious of how pretty the Dart terrarium at my local pet store is.

Being new to frogs I decided darts were a bit too complex to start off with, not to mention I live in a fairly arid region so humidity can be an issue.

I’ve settled on White Tree Frogs, the permanent smile they have just draws me in.

(Note, I realize this is a primarily Dart frog based forum but you folk seem quite knowledgeable about frogs in general)

Anywho, enough about me I’ve done quite a bit of research and think I am ready to start going to work putting together the vivarium. Before I do I figured I’d post my shopping list up here and see if you guys can recommend anything to me? Have I missed anything, overlooked some things not working well together? Impart your experience on me!

* · Exo Terra 18x18x24
* · Hydroballs
* · ABG Mix
* · Sphagnum Moss
* · Leaf Litter
* · Temperature and Humidity gauges
* · Josh’s frogs 18x18x24 Tree frog plant kit*
* · Lighting System**
* · Various branches; drift wood etc.
* · Water dish

*Josh’s frogs 18x18x24 Tree frog plant kit contains 2 bromeliads, 2 pothos cuttings, and 2 "viving plants"

**Note on the lighting, I’m debating between CFL’s and LED’s. I’m hesitant with the CFL’s because when I first started with my chameleon they were deemed very dangerous for chameleons. I’m guessing this isn’t the case with frogs or that the CFL’s are made differently now.
Also with the lighting, due to my job I’m usually awake and at home from 1-5am so I’m wanting to get some sort of ‘Night Light’ that lets me see the frogs but doesn’t disturb their natural day & night cycle. Any recommendations?

Anyways, sorry for the long post and thanks in advance,
-Tydis

·
Registered
158 Posts
Welcome to the community