Dendroboard banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,498 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm pretty new to dart frogs, and I was wondering just how much selective breeding goes on with these guys. As I've lurked around the forums, I noticed that if someone had an individual frog with a different pattern expression than the norm, they would be encouraged to breed those frogs. I'm sure that with every organism that humans keep there is at least some level of unconscious selective breeding.

So is deliberate selective breeding common with dart frogs? I know that with leopard geckos they can be bred for a specific color, or even for a larger size.

·
Registered
2,475 Posts
it is generally frowned upon to selective breed any dart frogs. we like to keep them as close to the wild populations as possible however, so any odd balls that pop up are usually bred to make sure we keep those alleles in the gene pool, so it can be as diverse as possible so we have healthy animals in the future. that means breeding the odd ball with a normal specimen, instead of like with like.

there are a few "designer" morphs out there though. things like "sky blue" azureus, "no dot" citronellas, and possibly a few auratus morphs. its really unfortunate that people have made them but oh well i guess. its also unfortunate what has happened to the snake and leopard gecko hobbies. hopefully that will never happen to th dart hobby.

·
Registered
3,029 Posts
As has been said, there is line breeding that goes on. However, many (most?) of us discourage it. When you find an oddball on the board and it's encouraged to be bred, check to see whether the poster is encouraging breeding for that trait, or encouraging breeding so the oddball gene gets back into the gene pool.

I don't know of anyone who discourages _owning_ oddballs, but selective breeding them for the trait is usually frowned upon.

·
Registered
2,245 Posts
Also, we need to be careful with our wording: