Dendroboard banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using the a few of the Repashy products for just about 6 months. I noticed now when I went to replenish my supply (I know their shelflife is about 6 months), that it helps it stay effective with refrigeration. I haven't been refrigerating the supplements, but will do so this time around.

My question is do you guys think the supplements were still being effective without the refrigeration?

My rotation has been 3 feedings a week. Each time the frogs receive a supplement. The rotation is Herptavite, Repashy ICB and RepCal. What do you guys use?

Thanks,

Nick

·
Registered
10,415 Posts
RepCal should not be refrigerated. It should be flushed down the toilet! It is made of crushed oyster shell and has too much phosphate to be very effective.

·
Registered
802 Posts
I've wondered the same thing about supplements. With how few frogs I have (two) I am going to end up throwing away a lot of the bag in about a month. I wonder though if I split the mix in half when it was fresh and kept one refrigerated and one not, if at this point I could throw away the unrefrigerated half and then go another six months on the refrigerated stuff. Does anyone know how long this will "keep" refrigerated?

·
Registered
3,152 Posts
Refrigeration may help preserve the vitamins if you also add silica packs to the mixes. Upon removal from the fridge, condensation sets in on the pack's inner walls, which lowers the mix's potency each time you remove it from cold storage. Using a silica pack (found in most vitamin jars) absorbs extra ambient moisture and could slow this process and allow your vitamins to last longer. I am hoping Repashy will start adding this feature to their vitamins as do other vitamin manufacturers.