Dendroboard banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Ranitomeya
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Forgot to mention, one of three frog’s heads and overall girth is noticeably larger / wider which I read can be the primary female indicator for Ranitomeya. Any thoughts here would be appreciated, I am a rookie. Not super concerned with breeding or not breeding, but would be cool to know genders...

·
Super Moderator
3,292 Posts
Forgot to mention, one of three frog’s heads and overall girth is noticeably larger / wider which I read can be the primary female indicator for Ranitomeya.
True, but by the time this is obvious (to me, anyway) the males will be calling, and the females laying. ;)

·
Registered
Nothing at the moment...
25 Posts
Absolutely wonderful frogs! What size is the tank? They are so tiny it's hard to tell lol
I'm considering getting a trio or quad of R. amazonica in the future. What has your experience been so far with these guys?

·
Registered
Ranitomeya
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
Hello Jik, I have a trio in an 18x18x24. They have been awesome thus far. Somewhat reclusive typical of ranitomeya (not that I am an expert, this is only me second Ranitomeya). But they are slowly but surely becoming more bold and spending more time revealing themselves. For me, their strikingly bold coloration and pattern more then makes up for their somewhat reclusive and skittish nature relative to other genus. Amazonica appear beautiful and they are on my list for next habitat.

·
Registered
Nothing at the moment...
25 Posts