Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I read on josh-frogs, that R. benedicta ,not as most R.-species, is more surface orientated. So is it best to use a L or H orientated tank for them - what are your experiences?

·
Registered
44 Posts
I'm not a frog expert (at all) but depending on how many you plan on getting, maybe do best of both worlds and get a 29 gal high? That way it's kinda long, and kinda tall. Or if you're going exo-terra/zoo med route, maybe a long one that's at least 18" tall?

·
Premium Member
489 Posts
I keep my 4 benedicta in a large (and tall) custom viv. It would be somewhere around 28 gals and is 20W X 24H X 18"D. They seem happy and are everywhere from the leaf litter to the highest branch. It has a HUGE bromeliad inside that seems to be benedicta central.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,483 Posts
Could surface-oriented also mean a predilection for planes? Broad leaves, elevated flats of logs? The males seem to enjoy The Stage, haha

·
Registered
2,493 Posts
It doesn’t make any difference to be honest.

In the wild, frogs climb trees hundreds of feet up ... they will never be able to accomplish this in our tanks.
So the point is, the frogs could care less if they have an extra 6” to roam ... build the tank however you’d like it. The frogs will use whatever space you give them.

As far as Benedicta go, in my experience,
Shucushuyaca tend to be a bit bolder & easier to breed ... whereas Pampa Hermosa hide more, and are a little more difficult to get going.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
127 Posts

In the wild, frogs climb trees hundreds of feet up ... they will never be able to accomplish this in our tanks.
So the point is, the frogs could care less if they have an extra 6” to roam ... build the tank however you’d like it. The frogs will use whatever space you give them.