Dendroboard banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,726 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a half inch gap between the sides of my false bottom and the walls of the tank. I plan on using Turface as the bottom layer of my substrate. I've never used it before, can anyone tell me how much it wicks water? Should I used Hydroton or equivalent to fill in that gap or can I just fill the gap with the Turface? I dont want my substrate level to be waterlogged...

·
Registered
1,672 Posts
Hydroton wicks water too.

May I ask why you are using turface vs. hydroton? And why are you using either if you already have a false bottom?

·
Registered
2,726 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That is a very good question. When I know the answer I'll get back to you. Seriously though, I want to make certain I have enough drainage. False bottom is an inch high and is really so that I can forget to drain the tank for a few weeks since I didnt install a drainpipe. The Turface layer is to allow more drainage between the organic substrate leve and the water, since I have found that if I keep organic substrate directly above the water level it tends to absorb a lot of condensation and get very waterlogged. I know hydroton wicks water, but I've used it before so I understand its properties.

·
Registered
1,672 Posts
Either would work then IMO. If I was doing it, I would choose Hydroton simply because it is lighter than turface and would allow more air flow for roots and microfauna that are living in it, etc. Turface is also very dusty and can leave iron stains on glass and in the water (not sure if you have a pond, or can see the glass where the substrate is).

·
Registered
1,078 Posts