Dendroboard banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have some black velvet alocasia, it seems to being doing pretty well getting a little to big for my vivarium. I was wondering if there is a way to take/make cuttings from it? or to get some more plants from it. Its had as many as 3 leaves, but is at one rather large leaf now (with another starting to split off from the main stem).

-tad

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
i am pretty sure cuttings do not work... i have not tried though but was told they do not... what i have done though is divisions, usually in the spring. maybe someone else can give a definitive answer.

shawn[/i]

·
Registered
1,052 Posts
I don't think cuttings work. They will propagate on their own if conditions are right. The ones I have start new plants off of the roots, or at the base of the original plant. I could be wrong, as I am not an expert but this is what I have noticed from mine.

·
Administrator
8,734 Posts
That's my experience too Jon. Plantlets will appear at the base of the original if conditions are good.

Seperating may work - taking a large root mass (with a couple leaves) and splitting it in two.

s

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
What are the "right conditions" ? mine's getting too big for the viv (leaf is starting to become flush to the top). There seem to be plenty of roots...
aw heck heres a pic:

I think I want to take it out of the vivarium and put it in a new/bigger planter obviously this won't fit in the vivarium anymore, but how should I keep it then? like a house plant? or inside a green house? When I replant it should I cover all the roots or leave some exposed how it is now?

thanks,

·
Administrator
8,734 Posts
Those roots will eventually pop up a plant.

Since it's coming out of a "greenhouse" environment, I'd try very hard to keep it in that environment if you move it.

Go ahead and cover the roots a bit. Don't think it will hurt anything and it might instigate a plantlet popping from one of them.