Dendroboard banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is just a what if scenario, but I have been concerned about this. What do you do for the frogs if there is a power outage that last for more than an hour or so? It hasn't happened in my current apartment yet, knock on wood, but what would I do to keep the frogs warm during the winter if this should happen. (No, a generator is not an option as I am a poor college student who lives in an apartment.)

Just a concern. Thanks for any thoughts and have a great day

Amanda

Btw, could somebody let me know if I am posting too many dumb questions. I am just in that addicted stage and am brimming with questions and concerns. I'm just planning the day when I run into some cash and can build a good vivarium.

·
Registered
210 Posts
there's a certian surge that i bought at best buy that if the power will go out it will keep my tanks up and going for up to 3 hours but thats about it...

·
Registered
707 Posts
Amanda,

Check out this thread:

http://www.dendroboard.com/phpBB2/viewt ... ght=heater

My take is a small propane heater is best. Just depends on your tolerance level for combustion heaters. Throw in a CO alarm, a smoke alarm, and a fire extinguisher and you should be good to go :eek: It should cost you about $100 bucks and keep you warm, too. The worst situation is the power going out while you are gone, but then that is a tougher scenario.

Seriously, though, I had a couple of wall mount propane heaters in my last house and they are built with all sorts of safety mechanisms these days. Just (1) don't buy it used unless you know how to inspect it, (2) get help setting it up if you haven't done something like this, (3) read the manual thoroughly to understand how all the safety features work. And, don't cut corners on the CO alarm, smoke alarm, and fire extinguisher if you go this route.

Marcos

·
Registered
707 Posts
TopGunJags01 said: