Dendroboard banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, with your help I finished my 18 cubed vivarium. I am now starting to get it established with plants. Fortunately my friend has a bonsai Nursery stocked with all kinds of rare and unusual plants which she gave me to stock this viv, which are all thriving except this Begonia. Can you please help Identify it so I can see what the exact care requirements are? The flower is blooming and is looking nice, but I already lost one leaf and just removed the other today because it looked like it was getting a fungus. Sorry for the pics, I don't know how to rotate them...

Attachments

·
Registered
1,213 Posts
I'm not an expert on begonias but I did notice that you have rooted cuttings of two shrubs in your vivarium. I don't know why stores sell the cuttings of these plants as house plants. I guess because they are easy to root? I just figured Id let you know how big these two can get:

The Colorful Croton Plant , Codiaeum variegatum, Joseph?s Coat Photos
I've seen these in Florida as tall as the house they are planted beside.

https://www.ppdl.purdue.edu/PPDL/weeklypics/9-5-05.html
A well meaning florist kept trying to give me polka dot plants for my vivariums until I showed her pictures of them grown as bushes.

·
Registered
588 Posts
I'm not a begonia expert either, but I do have three varieties. All three are house plants and are susceptible to powdery mildew in humid environments. I know that sounds weird because they are supposed to like humidity. But when mine get it they drop leaves like crazy and the leaves turn from a dark green to a pale green/yellow color. I'm just throwing out a wild guess that perhaps a vivarium for frogs might be too wet for the begonia you have (either humidity or maybe the soil is too wet for it). :confused:

Reactions: Lbguz44

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·