Dendroboard banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Apologies if this belongs in the beginner forum, but I'm wondering if anyone can give me insight into how they set up their plant quarantine/grow out. My plant experience consists solely of aquarium species, so I'm a total newbie. I have had success propagating Cryptocorynes and Bucephalandra emergent, but not sure how successful that would be for vivarium plants. What I did was covered 10 gallon aquariums with T8 lighting for 12 hours, egg crate false bottom to keep the humidity up, net pots with coconut fiber liners, substrate consisting of a mix of Miracle Gro Organic and peat. I know that for vivarium plants I'd want to use regular pots and ABG, but that's as far as I've gotten. I also know I can use clear Tupperware storage containers instead of aquariums.

So my newbie questions are...what sort of lighting does anyone use? Do you include a false bottom? Since there won't be any animals at the time, is there a vivarium safe fertilizer I should use? Do you add microfauna?

Apologies for so many questions, I'm probably overthinking, but also want to do things right. I actually bought a vivarium over a year ago but been nervous to start. Time for me to get on it.

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
My plant growout bin is a 75 gallon tank with a glass lid and 2 hardware store LED strip lights.
I use a false bottom to let the water drain(not that I ever have much water in the drainage layer), and use ABG style substrate. I don't use fertilizer but there are springtails and Isopods in my growout tank.

·
Registered
153 Posts