Dendroboard banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am pretty new to vivarium/paludarium construction and decided on an ambitious project. I recently built an 18x18x36 Exoterra paludarium. I did expanding foam background with driftwood and cork bark and built up a rock/expanding foam island area for planting.
I have been having a lot of issues with this set up so far. One of my main issues is that the substrate on the island is constantly wet. I am using ABG and weed barrier to allow the substrate to drain (I've checked many times that the water will drain through the fabric). The water does go completely underneath the land, but I made sure that the water never touches the substrate. It is several inches below. Despite that, my substrate is always saturated. Not just damp, but wet. I've already had one plant experience root rot. It's also starting to smell and I'm wondering if that is part of the reason.
I've looked at many construction videos and forums for this and it seems to be standard for the water to run under the land, yet others do not seem to have this problem. Does anyone have suggestions on avoiding this problem? Do people usually put LECA or something under the substrate still even though the water below is essentially a drainage area?

Any help is appreciated and I'm happy to provide any additional information!

·
Super Moderator
2,637 Posts
Pictures might help people solve your issue, however soaking wet substrate seems to be a common problem with paludariums

·
Registered
1,044 Posts
soaking wet substrate seems to be a common problem with paludariums
If I had a nickel...I'd be even richer. Ha ha.

Is it possible your foam is wicking? Plenty of times I've demo'd a viv and found sopping wet foam. It takes special care to seal that stuff. IME anyway. "Closed cell" yeah whatever.

Pictures might help ...
Indeed.

Phew.

·
Registered
1,044 Posts