Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am beginning to gather the basics for a paludarium. I am a somewhat experienced aquarium caretaker, and I would like to add some terrestrial variety to my collection of ecosystems. For those who are unfamiliar with the word (its a doozy, I know) a paludarium is basically a hybrid between an aquarium and a terrarium/vivarium. I would like to create an Amazonian environment with some cardinal tetras(imagine the common neon tetra, but with red running down the length of the body) which are a little more fragile than other similar tetras, but they are native to South America, so they would be a nice addition to a dart environment. I also plan to add Corydoras that are smaller, and perhaps more subdued in color, and would like to have about a dozen tetras and half that many cory cats. But enough of the piscean world where I have plenty of knowledge, and into the area where I defer to the experts here. I plan on a total of about 20 gallons of water, because I have already purchased an internal filter that handles... You guessed it! 20 gallons! Originally, I was thinking about doing a 24x24x24/30 cube with a false back to house the filter, and use the filter as a waterfall, because it is a whisper 20i, and would be easy to do. Now, however, I am leaning more towards something rectangular, because I think that if I did something like an L-shaped land mass where the foot of the L is somewhere in the left side, and the land is obviously along the back, with a couple islands with false bottoms to house hardware such as powerheads for river-like flow, and a heater. The left side could house the filter, and create a left-to-right flow for the tetras. I would create a slope on the right side, so any frogs that fell into the water could climb back out. I was gonna do just some simple cork wood foundation silicone'd in place, and then filled with a good substrate for planting, cork wall, p