Dendroboard banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have no experience with pdf, and I am planning to have a few terriblis once I am done gathering information, and building their viv. I was wondering if a diet of springtails and dubias would be proper for them. I see no reason why it would be so but I prefer asking!

·
Registered
1,017 Posts
Adults will need larger food than springtails. They can even take crickets.

·
Registered
48 Posts
My group of adults won't touch springtails, the tank is loaded with them.

They seem to enjoy anything they can fit in their mouth. Crickets, Hydei, Wax Worms, Isopods... etc. I even witnessed one take down an earthworm that was living in the tank. One of my males has actually tried eating my finger when I was trimming out some of the plants.

·
Registered
2,532 Posts
I'm sure a terrib will eat any size dubia they can stuff down their gullet, but an adult dubia is probably the same size as an adult terribilis, and roaches are notoriously escapey and hidey, so they can easily evade being eaten and colonize your tank.

·
Registered
347 Posts
I have not used dubia or lateralis for my frogs. I have however, the experience of our using them to feed 300+ tarantula.

Of the 2 types, we prefer the lateralis.

Here are my reasons for not feeding them to my pdfs:

1 - dubia will burrow - which makes them very successful escape artists.

2 - dusting isn't as easy as with ffs - these are good for tarantula because the tarantulas' dietary need is for very low calcium.

3 - colonies available are not small, so unless you were to use many, this might not be cost effective.

4 - lateralis will hide behind things and move around a lot.

5 - lateralis take about 3 months to reach maturity. dubia can mature more slowly depending on temperature.