Dendroboard banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am thinking about putting an orchid in the tank I am building right now. I want to mount it directly to the cork, and it needs to fit in a 12h" x 5w" space. It will also be directly under a 2 x 65w cf fixture. Any suggestions and a place to get it?

Thanks,

·
Registered
986 Posts
Matt,

I know I posted on Kingsnake regarding this post as well, but here goes, for anyone else making the leap to orchids. I am by no means an expert, but here are some suggestions:

Haerella odorata--an old standby as a reliable and nice looking mini, nearly always in bloom; but you probably have too much light for this guy

Psygmorchis pusilla--fast growing and doing well in my terrarium with 2 mistings per day and no fan--supposed to only have a 5 year life span; you probably have too much light for this one, too

Epidendrum and Encyclia at http://www.customecos.com --Alex's plants have always done well in my terraria, and his prices are great. Epi 'Joseph Li' has very nice looking flowers, and both of these genera are known for liking good light

I would stay away from Barkerias with the way mine is doing right now.

Your typically good frog tank orchids--those of the Pleurothallid Alliance (Pleuros, Restrepias, Dracs, etc.) won't do well under all of your light--that's a ton of light in that little space!

A mini Dendrobium or Cattleya might do well, but Dendro is such a diverse genera that it's hard to say which will do well; check http://www.andysorchids.com and run his search function to find a good orchid for your conditions. Unfortunately, you won't get by cheaply there.

http://www.hoosierorchid.com has a nice bunch of mini Saphrocattleyas that might do well mounted there, and you might find a mini Oncidium that could do well.