Dendroboard banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, my name is Steve, and I'm a Noob. Now that is out of the way, I have a couple of questions. I will apologize in advance if these topics have been covered elsewhere, but I racked my brain coming up with every search term I could think of and got little back that dealt directly with my questions.

First. I have yet to see a build that uses plywood for the back and bottom of the viv. Is there any reason for this? It makes more sense to me to build the areas that won't be seen out of plywood that is coated in a colored epoxy resin, rather than spending the extra for glass, then coating it in black silicone.

Second. I'm having difficulty figuring out just how important transmission of UVA,B and C into the viv is. I should say that my goal is a colony of D. leucomelas (say 6-8) in a well planted environment. I would also be open to suggestions for other arboreal species that would work as well as D. leucomelas in a group setting. Single species only display, of course! No mixing.

Anyway, how important is the transmission of UV light into the viv? Will I need to invest in a large piece of quartz, pyrex or borosilicate glass to allow for UV transmission? Has anyone been fooling around with PAR in their displays? I've been a reefer for a long time and run double-ended metal-halides behind quartz glass on my display tank. I think MH is too hot for a viv, so I'm leaning towards T-5's or LEDs. I'm open to anything anyone wants to suggest.

Thanks!

Steve

·
Registered
48 Posts
i don't have a viv but as far as i know from months of research you don't need uv you need a certain color temperature from 6000-7000

·
Registered
2,954 Posts
UV is not required for dart frogs. Really the only reason for lighting at all is for the plants, and a little light makes it a little more enjoyable to view your frogs.

·
Registered
1,170 Posts