Dendroboard banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm totally new to dart frogs. I currently keep two blue tongued skinks, and I have kept a cuban tree frog in the past.

Understandably, I have never had to deal with any of the tiny little insects that dart frogs need, and know nothing about their nutrition. I was looking at Josh's Frogs, and I noticed that they had isopods, rice flour beetle larvae, and springtails advertised. Is it possible to use these three insects as feeders and completely eliminate fruit flies from the diet?

If this is not possible, I will gladly use fruit flies. I do not plan to own darts for at least another several months, so it's not like I'm currently depriving my frogs of any nutrients. I just want to know if anyone has done this or if it is possible. Thanks!

·
Registered
8,328 Posts
eeeeh. Not likely. You need a feeder thats easily dustable with supplemets.....which eliminates springtails. You need a food source that quickly reproduces.....eliminate isopods and flour beetles. Fruit flies are the staple for a very good reason. All other feeders should be considered bonus feeders and tank janitors.

You could theoretically culture enough bean beetles or rice weevils to keep larger frogs fed, but some frogs dont accept them as a feeder, but theyre a pain to feed out

·
Registered
1,017 Posts
You should be able to keep terribilis without FF's. Crickets and the other food sources that you listed should be fine. When they are smaller, you might have to keep a few FF cultures to feed them.

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
I find bean beetles to produce very heavily. I cant see any reason you could not get enough production out of them. If any culture is big enough you can make enough bugs. Bean beetles can also easily be paced to make more consistent longer lasting cultures.