Dendroboard banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I've been lurking for a while, getting my feet wet. I am Travis, a complete novice in the art of everything outside the realm of cats and dogs. But two weeks ago I went to a reptile show in Taylor MI and absolutely fell in love with dart frogs. I bought a book (Barron's "Poison Dart Frogs" by R.D. Bartlett) and like I mentioned have been reading dendroboard as well as other sites and have decided to take the plunge.
My first step is to see if I can even manage a terrarium. I've acquired a used 10 gallon aquarium, cleaned it with a weak bleach solution (as recommended on dendroboard) and am ready to build my first false-bottom rain-forest terrarium.
However I have a question that I haven't seen addressed and it's most likely because I'm the ONLY person on the planet that doesn't know the answer. Here it is. What is (an) egg-crate light diffuser? I don't even know where to begin looking for it. All can figure is that it's something like a matress topper like you would take camping or something.
I have another question about what you succesful folks prefer to use beneath the substrate. My book recommends 2 sheets of plastic screen or air conditioning filter material.
Hey, any help will be greatly appreciated.
I'm sure I'll be back with more questions soon.

·
Registered
696 Posts
Travis,
Congrats on making the decision. By finding this board you are going in the right direction, There is a world of knowledge and experience on here. You aren't allone in your question. There are a lot of people that say "egg crate? huh?" I did. But all it is, is the diffuser for a flourescent light fixture. Lttle squares. You can find it in the lighting section of Lowes or HomeDepot (~$8-10) here's a pic http://www.terra5designs.com/
While you are there you can p/u 1 1/2 pvc couplers to support it off the bottom of the tank. And get some replacement screen for "filter"