Dendroboard banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, Dendroboard! I'm brand new to the vivarium/paludarium scene. I've been a freshwater planted tank guy for about 6 years. I got a chance to try out a Zoo Med 18x18x36 paludarium and jumped on it. Didn't keep good photos of the build process and I'm sure I made a ton of mistakes. Here's the fully planted result. I know it will require revision over time. I expected a lot of things to show up smaller than they are, but that's ok. Also, I think the high heat during shipping killed the moss slurry, so a lot of that will have to be replaced, too. Wish I'd found this board before I did my build! There are some truly inspiring works here.

I'm already set on building a big paludarium as a future project with a ton of lessons learned on this small one. Worked out that way with my planted tanks, too. I went from a 29g low-tech to a 150g high-tech.

No livestock plans other than fish or crabs, but I need to get the top 2/3 in better shape before I do that.

Constructive critique welcome!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I wanted to do Vampire Crabs, but I don't think I have enough horizontal land access for them, so I've pretty much bagged that idea. Once I grow in more plants on the bottom half -- some java fern and more moss -- I'll probably go with Celestial Pearl Danios or Dwarf Emerald Rasboras. Two of my favorite fish ever, and they'll do really well in a one-species tank. I've got a pair of L-201 Plecos that are only a couple inches long that would go well in there. I never see them in their current tank anyway.

Thanks for the nice comments!

·
Registered
700 Posts
Your vertical portion looks to be growing in well! Have you had much luck growing plants in the submerged portion?

·
Registered
71 Posts
Do you mind posting a full plant list? Love the aesthetic of the bromeliads in the middle! Great Tank!(y)

Gastrotheca
---------------------------
Crested Gecko 0.2.0

·