Dendroboard banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm relatively new to vivaria but I've done years worth of reef and freshwater planted tanks. Saw a deal for a local 12x12x18 and decided to give this a try!

The plan is for a fully planted bioactive viv, with a mossy drip wall (I know, the debate over water features in smaller vivs - I've kept the profile to <3" and if the system fails I'll still have a mist backup for humidity. )

Scape was build last week, I'm planning to let the silicone and GS outgas for about a month before adding plants, then let the tank grow in (with microfauna) for another month before adding frogs.

Hardware:
  • Zoo Med 12x12x18
  • Zoo Med CFL Hood (Not Pictured)
  • 25W +UV CFL
  • Small powerhead for drip wall
  • Exo Terra Monsoon Solo (?)
  • Starting with a digital timer power strip, maybe I'll spin my own diy controller or recycle a reef controller in the future... We'll see how it stabilizes

Scape:
  • Cork Bark wall with Mopani accents - mounted to tank with silicone
  • GS & Cocoa fiber filler

Flora:
  • Asstd. Mosses for drip wall
  • 2-3 Epiphytes, maybe broms
  • Asstd. Tropicals, Ferns, Vines

Fauna:
  • 1.1.0 - R. ventrimaculata 'French Guiana Yellow'

Scape as of 2/12/17:

I'd love any feedback or tips as I'm new to this!

·
Registered
1,258 Posts
The cork will probably not hold up for more than 6 months if it's constatly wet. It breaks down over time in moist environments.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

·
Registered
214 Posts
I have had a cork walled tank running for 3 years and the cork has not deteriorated at all in that time.
Yeah I think wet and submerged are two different things, it is bark after all.

·
Registered
1,258 Posts