Dendroboard banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone :D

I'm not sure where to put an intro but i'll post a brief one here. My name is dustin, and i'm 17 (as of a few days ago 27). I'm interested in just about everything, Currently i'm studying 3 additional languages, i grow carnivorous plants, soon hope to start guitar, can cook, not sure what else, if you want to friend me i'm on fb and we can chat haha. i think the links on my profile page here.

Anyway, i was interested in Poison dart frogs years ago but before that i was heavily into growing carnivorous plants. now that my cp collection has been taken down except for a few plants i have some room. After some research i rediscovered PDFs and now i'm really would like to get started.

Here's a summary of what i've read so far...

For the tank set up:
1. Vivariums require a 2-3" drainage layer created by the eggcrate/gravel or LECA (hydroponic clay beads, rinsed). Once you have it down cover it with a fine screen, and add a mix of orchid bark, jungle mix (i think is what i saw at my local pet store, like a black earth kindof stuff.), fiber moss, and coco husk, mix is determined by what you think is best. You can cover the soils surface with forest floor which is highly recommended even over moss. to provide a place for springtails and isopods to flourish.
2. Select plants that can grow in med-high humidity, and anywhere from low to high light. Lights (t5 highly recommended) are more for your plants and not the frogs. Try to plant your tanks with few species of plants as it may get cramped looking if you use to many in the space you're provided.
3. Although bromeliads are great frogs may lay eggs in them which will make it difficult for removal, especially if the plant is planted inside the tank. (if you planted it in a small pot burried under the surface would that make it easier to extract the plant and eggs?)