Dendroboard banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a couple of questions on set up for a Auratus "Standard Hawaiian". I have a set-up with just some normal Green Tree Frogs. I would like to up grade my system to have dendros. Not with the greens of course. I have a 37 gallon with a Habba Mist system, screen top with 2 clamp lights with 60 watt plant lights. Do these frogs need flowing water? What type of lighting do I need to keep these? Im pretty new to frogs so any help would be GREAT. I can tell you anything you want to know about Reef tanks, but im looking for a new hobby. Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
99 Posts
I currently have 2 bronze auratus and while they don't necessarily need flowing water they do like to be wet. I probably spray mine down at least twice a day. They also like to sit the waterdish that I have provided

They like high humidity (around 90 or so) and seem to be rather forgiving when it comes to temperature.

As far as lighting, I currently am using a compact fluorescent 65w and they seem to like it just fine.

They are kind of shy as well...so giving them plenty of plants and what not to hide in if they want tends to make them happy too.

Hope this helped a little :).

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
hey avs

remember me from RC?

well the frogs dont really need running water, misting the system daily will keep the tank moist enough, and unlike chameleons they dont have to drink from a running source, as long as you can keep the humidity in the terrarium high you shouldnt have problems.

your lighting is good, remember plants need the lights, but sometimes frogs dont like intense lighting (unlike reefs). as long as the light keeps the plants happy it will be fine.