Dendroboard banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello!

Brand new to the hobby, here. I've played around with freshwater aquaria, but I've never tried a vivarium.

This is my first build, and I'm planning on getting a few Leucs. It's a 29g fish tank that I'm reusing. While i'm not finished, any critiques would be more than welcome.

I do wish I had just gone ahead and put in a nice background but I was worried about ruining a tank in case I F-up. Next build though...

I do have a question about the temperature; when measuring it, should I be looking at the temp near the ground or the general air? It usually varies by a few degrees in the tank so far...

Thank you! :)

#Aaaaand I can't believe I misspelled "dendro"....*Facepalm*

·
Registered
1,622 Posts
Re: New to Dendros, First build

Lookin' good so far! Might I suggest some more plants such as pothos, begonias, dwarf palms, ect, ect. Bigger, more lush plants with bigger leaves and maybe some more driftwood would make this look even nicer! What kind of false bottom did you use? The egg crate method or the hydroton method?

Edit: As I look at it again, you could do a peninsula-style vivarium with the background on the smaller sides of the tank instead of on the bigger back side. And then put one of the the smaller sides against the wall. If built right, they can make a great display vivarium.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It's currently set up to separate the office area in my apartment from the living room. The big background is left over from when my roomie temporarily housed her snake in it.

Thanks for the plant suggestions, It is one thing I was scratching my head about.

# And I used LECA from some generic manufacturer this time around.

·
Registered
19,318 Posts