Dendroboard banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

First I am so excited to get started with Dart Frogs! I have been doing reef keeping in small nano reefs for 15 years so far and have it down fairly well I feel.

Dart Frogs have always been a goal of mine. My wife and I are ready to get started. We are in Milwaukee and have a local Dart Frog vendor called MKE Rainfrog. The owner seems knowledgeable and it’s great to have a local business with the specimens to look at.

With all that being said we plan to go a little different route. We are not going to go with ExoTerra. I have been doing a lot of research and while exoterra seem to really alleviate the headache of management and pruning access etc etc I believe we can be successful using with a 29 gallon fish tank 40 gallon breeder. We are going to get some custom glass cut for the top to maintain humidity levels too. We are familiar with the flora that is required and plan to have pothos, monstera but are also researching more plants that we haven’t personally kept like bromeliads.

For the specific frogs we are looking we either 2-3 Azureus, Patricia, or Bumblebee. Forgive me for not writing out their scientific names I just know these ones offhandedly.

We also live in a colder climate (Wisconsin) and are concerned about heat. Is a heat pad needed or recommended at all? Also we may invest in a Mist king but not sure yet. We are confident in growing our own fly cultures for feeding too.

This is just the beginning of this so I welcome all suggestions and recommendations!

Thanks!

·
Registered
314 Posts
Azureus and Patricia are both Dendrobates tinctorius; they get big (for a dart) and as adults are almost always best kept in pairs due to aggression. The Bumblebees aka Dendrobates leucomelas are an excellent choice given they're a hardy frog and can be kept in groups. Bold, interesting, pleasant call.