Dendroboard banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

I am planning on designing a dart frog vivarium with my Exo-Terra PT2614 Large/Tall 90 x 45 x 60 cm 36” x 18” x 24” (WxDxH) and I am new to the frog hobby. I am not just planning on keeping Dart frogs but also breeding them and designing a self sustaining ecosystem. I plan on using the egg crate false bottom with ABG substrate and leaf litter. I am not sure exactly what plants to use right now but I have plenty of time to research that info later. Right now my main worry is designing the background and how I am going to do this. I have never used great stuff before but it doesn't look too difficult. My question is should I throw the Exo-Terra background that the cage came with away or use it? Once the egg crate is in the cage that background would obviously have to be altered to make it fit again and that would kinda suck. Or I could use the LECA method and keep the Exo-Terra background and maybe add to it on the sides with the great stuff. What do you guys suggest?
My next worry is if I should drill a hole in the bottom of the tank and attach a bulkhead, like somebody had suggested to me on another forum. I do not know exactly what a bulkhead is or what components are needed to make it work. All I know is that it is used to drain the excess water. Can anybody explain a little more about this bulkhead and help me understand how it is used to drain the tank and why this would be the best way to drain the water? If I am going to drill a hole in this expensive tank then I really want to understand this concept.