Dendroboard banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to keeping dart frogs and I recently got 2 D. auratus "Panama G&B" froglets. They are in a 20G high planted vivarium with a water feature and plenty of hiding places/cover (plants, leaf litter, coco hut). One of the frogs is very active and has been eating, the other frog I am a little concerned about. Right after he/she was released from the container I took it home in ( I did go to a store and pick them out myself, although my drive home was about 2 hours, but they were not shipped so I wouldn't expect a shipping injury), I noticed the frog hobbling and seeming to not want to use it's left front leg. Although I did see the frog use the leg a little, he/she seemed to do so hesitantly. Since the initial release I have not seen that frog at all, not even when I feed. I am really concerned about the frog not eating. I checked under the leaf where I knew the frog was hiding only to make sure that the frog hadn't died, I really did not want to disturb the frog and stress it out more, but at the same time I was very concerned. The frog was still alive, and hopped away a little when I lifted the leaf. I really couldn't tell if the frog was still limping, but I did notice that the frog looked like it was trying to eat itself/like it was gagging. Is this frog ok and just shy? Should I be worried? I don't really want to handle it because I am worried that would just stress it out more. It went right back to hiding under the leaf after I put the leaf back.

Thanks for any/all help,
~Ana

·
Registered
124 Posts