Dendroboard banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,498 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!

So yesterday I attended Frog Day NYC and walked out with my first two azureus froglets! And as I am a noob, I also have some questions:

I have put both frogs in a plastic shoebox with moss and leaves and small plant cuttings for hiding. Is it OK to put the frogs together at this point? One frog is slightly larger than the other; one is about the size of a quarter and the other is about the size of a penny.

They both seem to be doing very well so far; they are both hopping around and are pretty active. I have observed the larger frog eating several fruit flies. I THINK I've seen the smaller one eating too, but I'm not sure -- I've seen him lunging at something I couldn't really see, and then wiping his face with his hands, and I believe this is a feeding behavior.

What are some signs I should look for that would indicate the frogs are stressed or not doing well? Also, I have a 20G terrarium that I'm preparing for them, and I was wondering if I have to wait till they're bigger to transfer them to the terrarium.

·
Registered
8,465 Posts
Congratulations!! :D

Since they are both small froglets, I think it's ok to keep them together in the box. Just make sure the small one eats. Do you have any springtails in there?

I think the issue with bigger tanks for froglets is that they may have difficulty chasing down food. However, it you put a few pieces of fruit in there for feeding stations, that should be ok. Again, just be sure to observe to make sure they are both eating.

Looking forward to seeing pics!

·
Registered
2,498 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I did not put any springtails in there because from what I've read that the froglets should be able to handle the fruit flies

·
Registered
321 Posts