Dendroboard banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so i am fairly new to the hobbies. I have built 4 huge vivariums 200gal - 400 gallons now and had reptiles and amphibians o just recently built a vivarium 7ft tall 7ft wide and 2ft deep peat moss background. i will be using all air plants. i will probably have dart frogs or tree frogs in it or i might do some small reptiles

I dont know anything about parasites the last think i want is to have a parasite ruin this vivarium i have $2000 stuck into it

do i quarantine everything i get for a month or two before i put it in this big vivarium and anything i get should i do fecal sample or is it not a big deal if a frog has them.

also how do you treat a parasite if they have one and and who do i send samples to or go to i need to know every thing on the subject.

o yeah one more ? can plants transfer anything that will ruin a viv should i do anything to plants before putting them in my vivarium

·
Registered
19,329 Posts
In short everything including plants should be quarantined. You may want to take steps to avoid nemerteans, snails and slugs.. as well as parasites.

If we go by institutional standards (which are fairly rigorous compared to the hobby) then all frogs should be quarantined for 30 days or three clean fecals which ever is longer. Fecals should be done and ideally if you can use a vet that can actually see the frogs then it is probable that you may not have to treat the frogs depending on how the frogs look. There is some paradigm shifts occuring with some of the more progressive vets. (see http://www.dendroboard.com/forum/ge...regular-treatment-parasites-4.html#post298624 for one side) and whether or not your going to be monitoring the condition of the animals on a routine basis (institutions tend to do fecals at least once and usually twice a year. In animals that housed together (you do not have to get fecals from each animal only from the enclosure)).