Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I' ve been wanting to build a tropical vivarium for some time I just didnt have the funds. Now I have some $ and I have decided to look into this hobby.

I would really like to end up witha vivarium that looks like one from this web site. http://www.vivaria.nl (vivaria projects) Im sure most of you have seen this site. I also notice that they can ship over seas, which I might consider doing. There set up sounds real good but Im a beginner. I really like these features from their tank. Are these standard features for Vivariums?
Glass vivarium with slide-away and removable front panel, small air-vents in front under panel and at the top in the back, easy access from front and top.

The back of the vivarium padded with specially developed cocos panels®, can be planted with epiphytes, ferns and bromeliads.

A pump and tubing to filter and circulate the water, the cocos panels are kept moist this way and a waterfall can be created, while guaranteeing the right humidity.

At the top in the back of the vivarium a ventilator prevents the glass from fogging.

Lamps fitted in a special removable hood, separated from the vivarium by UV-plate, high light-intensity for optimum growth, cooled by a separate ventilator.

I would also like to have a pool of water to hold fish and live plants. I have read that poison dart frogs are bad swimmers is this a bad idea or as long as I leave areas where the frogs can climb out will it be o.k.?

I am thankful that I found this site. I also have this book for some info

Poison Dart Frogs: how to keep the most colorful frongs around extensive plant and food sections step-by-step breeding instructions
Authors: William Samples and Jack Wattley

Are there any other books or web sites that will help me with info on building a vivarium

Thanks for you help

brb

·
Administrator
13,229 Posts
First check out the links section, there are a ton of information there.